The Pharmapreneur's Market is a competition for student pharmapreneurs to turn their ideas into reality.

2023 Pharmapreneur's Market Winner

Congratulations to Meya Ngundam, PharmD ’23, winner of the Natalie D. Eddington Pharmapreneurship Award for Health Care Innovation!

Ngundam’s company will find sustainable ways of handling electronic waste that could include resale, donation, or recycling.

Read the full story on the News Center.

In 2023, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy alumnus John Gregory, BSP ’76, DPS (hon.) ’02, board chair and CEO of Gregory Pharmaceutical Holding, Inc., who also founded King Pharmaceuticals, created the Natalie D. Eddington Pharmapreneurship Award for Health Care Innovation to support pharmacy students and their innovative, transformative early stage pharmapreneurial ideas that have the potential to change pharmacy practice and health care.

Under the umbrella of the School of Pharmacy’s Pharmapreneurship® initiative and its Office of Pharmapreneurship, the visionary award provides up to $100,000 in start-up funds over a one-year period to pharmacy student pioneers and innovators who present ideas at the School’s Pharmapreneur’s Market competition.

After initial submission of ideas and plans, a select group of pharmapreneurial students will be invited to pitch their ideas to a panel of judges. One winner could receive the monetary award to help move their idea closer to reality.

The competition is open to individual Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) students or interprofessional/interdisciplinary teams from various institutions (University of Maryland, Baltimore, University of Maryland, College Park, UMBC, Johns Hopkins University, and others) that include as part of the team a UMSOP PharmD student. The competition seeks innovative early-stage, for-profit or not-for-profit companies, ideas, or products that are still in development but have a solid business plan, structure, and modest or no revenues.

Submissions for the 2024 competition (see form below) are due on Friday, Sept. 13, 2024 at noon. Submissions will be narrowed by a selection committee of staff, faculty, and community members to a field of 3-4 finalists, who will pitch their ideas to a team of judges on Oct. 8. Final selection for the teams to present will be announced Sept. 27, 2024.

Fill out my online form.