The US-Thai Consortium for the Development of Pharmacy Education in Thailand was founded in May 1994 when nine schools of pharmacy from the United States and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with eight schools of pharmacy in Thailand and the Committee for Pharmacy Manpower Development of the Thailand Ministry of University Affairs.

The mission of the consortium was to foster a formal link, on an institutional basis, in recognition of the long-term development plan of the Ministry of University Affairs to enhance the academic, research, and clinical programs of their Schools of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. The long-term goal of the program was to expand the number of pharmacy schools and pharmacy faculty members in Thailand, and the subsequent training of additional pharmacists for practice; thereby, strengthening both pharmacy education and practice to improve the health and welfare of the Thai people.

There are now 18 Thai and 16 US schools of pharmacy in the consortium. In July 2008, the MOA was renewed for an additional fourteen years, with consideration in 2022 to extend it again to 2037.

The official website for the consortium is

US-Thai Pharmacy Education Consortium Universities:

  • Auburn University
  • Burapha University
  • Chiang Mai University
  • Chulalongkorn University
  • Eastern Asia University
  • Huachiew Chalermprakeit University
  • Khon Kaen University
  • Mahasarakham University
  • Mahidol University
  • Naresuan University
  • Ohio State University
  • Payap University
  • Phayao University
  • Prince of Songkla University
  • Purdue University
  • Rangsit University
  • Siam University
  • Silpakorn University
  • Srinakharinwirot University
  • Ubon Ratchathani University
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Florida
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of North Carolina
  • University of Texas
  • University of Utah
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Walailak University
  • West Virginia University