Bio- and Nano-Technology Center (BNTC) faculty members are renowned in the field, receiving accolades, awards, and funding for their work to translate biology and nanoscience discoveries into biopharmaceuticals, nanomedicines, and biomaterials.

Explore the links below for news, awards, and funding updates that highlight our faculty members' most recent achievements.

Center News

  • BNTC Collaborates with NIST to Evaluate Biomanufacturing Technologies
    Date Published: November 13, 2020
    Quality measurements with benchtop nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) is compatible with manufacturing, but its potential in the pharmaceutical industry has yet to be realized. To help accelerate adoption of benchtop NMR methods, the BNTC and NIST have initiated an inter-lab comparison of the benchtop NMR measurements for characterizing model liquid dosage forms of pharmaceutical products. The goal of this study is to validate that, across different instrument platforms and different laboratories and operators, these measurements are reliable, reproducible, and informative methods for characterizing pharmaceutical products.
  • Nanoparticle Therapy Shows Promise with Breast Cancer
    Date Published: January 23, 2020
    Researchers at the University of Maryland School of Medicine developed a new nanoparticle drug formulation that targets a specific receptor on cancer cells and appears to be more effective than a standard nanoparticle therapy currently on the market to treat metastatic breast cancer.
  • DART Therapeutic Platform Technology for Treating Fn14-Positive Cancers
    Date Published: June 13, 2016
    The discovery of unique cell surface proteins associated with certain tumors has facilitated new approaches for nanocarrier design and payload delivery; specifically, the capability of targeting and selectively killing tumor cells while sparing healthy tissue.

Faculty Awards

Faculty MemberRecent Awards
Christopher Jewel
  • 2021: Miegunyah Distinguished Fellow, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • 2020: Selected for NIH Concept-to-Clinic Commercialization Program
  • 2019: Presidential Early Career Award to Scientists & Engineers (PECASE) from White House
  • 2019: Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
Ryan Pearson
  • 2020: NIPTE Rising Star Scholarship, National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology & Education, Minneapolis, MN
  • 2020: AAI Early Career Faculty Travel Grant, American Association of Immunologists, Rockville, MD
  • 2019: AACP New Investigator Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, Arlington, VA

Funding Updates


  • Improving Multiple Sclerosis Patient Quality of Life Using Microneedles
    NIH # R01 AI144667 (NIAID), 06/2019-05/2023
    Principal Investigator: Christopher Jewell
  • Programming immune function through modular assembly of polyionic immune signals
    NIH # R01 EB027143 (NIBIB), 03/2019-12/2022
    Principal Investigator: Christopher Jewell
  • Harnessing biomaterials to study the link between local lymph node function and systemic tolerance
    NIH # R01 EB026896 (NIBIB), 04/2018-12/2021
    Principal Investigator: Christopher Jewell

  • Tunable Assembly of Regulatory Immune Signals to Promote Myelin-specific Tolerance
    U.S. Veteran Affairs # I01 BX003690 (BLR&D), 07/2017-06/2021
    Principal Investigator: Christopher Jewell

  • Engineered Ensemble Nanoimmunotherapies for Cancer
    NIH # R01 CA226171 (NCI), 12/2018-11/2022
    Principal Investigator: Christopher Jewell

  • Engineering B cell modulating vaccines for T cell cancer immunotherapy
    2020 Innovative Collaboration Pilot Grant (UMB Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (1UL1TR003098)
    Principal Investigator: Ryan Pearson

  • CFZ Delivery to Colon with EK101 for CDI Treatment
    2020 Maryland Industrial Partnerships Phase I (Mtech)
    Principal Investigator: Ryan Pearson

  • Formulation Development for Bone Control Therapy
    2019 Maryland Industrial Partnerships Phase II (Mtech)
    Principal Investigator: Ryan Pearson

  • Programming immune cell sensitivity towards Toll-like receptor activation
    2019 New Investigator Award (American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy)
    Principal Investigator: Ryan Pearson