Endowed Faculty

The Parke-Davis Chair in Geriatric Pharmacotherapy was established in 1990 with a $1 million gift from the Warner-Lambert Company on the eve of the 125th anniversary of Parke-Davis and the School of Pharmacy's 150th Anniversary. The endowment underwrites the School's continuing commitment to geriatric pharmacotherapy as exemplified by the accomplishments of the late Peter P. Lamy, the first holder of the Parke-Davis Chair. Linda Wastila, BSPharm, MSPH, PhD, professor in P-SHOR, is current holder of this chair.

The Felix Gyi Endowed Memorial Professor in Pharmapreneurship was established in 2021 with a gift from Terry Gyi, BSP ’83, PharmD ’06, and her daughter Rebecca Gyi-Hovis, MD, in memory of their late husband and father Felix A. Khin-Maung-Gyi, BSP ’83, PharmD, MBA, chair and founder of Chesapeake Research Review and one of the School of Pharmacy’s nine Founding Pharmapreneurs. The pharmapreneurship initiative describes the School’s commitment to supporting and best positioning its world class faculty, wonderful students, and exceptional staff to achieve their career aspirations and therefore address our nation’s health care, research, policy, and societal needs through innovation. Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, FAPhA, FNAP, professor in P-SHOR, is current holder of this professorship.

Endowed Lectures

The Francis S. Balassone Memorial Lecture was established in 1976 by the Maryland Pharmacists Association and the School’s Alumni Association in memory of Francis Balassone, an alumnus of the Class of 1940, and a faculty member at the School. Balassone was executive secretary of the Maryland Board of Pharmacy and was instrumental in establishing the first School-based pharmacy student externship program in the nation.

The John W. Holaday, PhD, Endowed Memorial Lectureship in Medical Cannabis was established with a gift from Curio Wellness – a medical cannabis brand and trusted health care partner based in Maryland. The lectureship honors the memory of John Holaday, PhD, a highly accomplished pharmaceutical executive, entrepreneur, and medical scholar who also served as chairman emeritus of Curio Wellness’s Scientific Advisory Board.

The Paul A. Pumpian Memorial Lecture, established in 2004, is supported by a gift from Paul A. Pumpian, BSP ’50, JD, a former faculty member at the School who passed away in 2008.